RC Truck and Construction  

Go Back   RC Truck and Construction > RC Tech section. > Sound Systems tech

Sound Systems tech This section is dedicated to the sound systems for our models. Tamiya MFU, Servonaut, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2012, 02:16 AM
Cossett's Avatar
Cossett Cossett is offline
On Leave
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sydney Aus
Posts: 1,384
Cossett is a jewel in the roughCossett is a jewel in the roughCossett is a jewel in the roughCossett is a jewel in the rough
Default Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

1. Binding the Transmitter and the Receiver
The first thing you must do is bind the Transmitter and Receiver so that they can talk to one another.
a. Ensure that the Transmitter is turned off.
b. Plug in the Bind plug that came with the Receiver into the DATA\BIND port on the Receiver.
c. Plug a power source into any of the other ports on the Receiver, for example the THRO port. The power can be from the model itself, or a portable power supply of 4 AA batteries.
d. Hold the Trainer switch on the Transmitter, move the left stick to the full down position and power on the Transimtter.
e. Keep holding the Trainer switch until the Receiver's LED stays on.
f. Remove the bind plug from the receiver.
g. The Transmitter and Receiver have now been bound.
2. Plug the Receiver into the Tamiya Multi-Function Unit (MFU)
The Receiver must be plugged into the MFU in a particular order.
a. Plug the Input\Throttle (J5) plug into the THRO port on the Receiver
b. Plug the Input\Steering (J4) plug into the AILE port on the Receiver
c. Plug the Input\Support Legs (J6) plug into the ELEV port on the Receiver
d. Plug the Input\Shift (J7) plug into the RUDD port on the Receiver
e. Plug the 5th Wheel plug straight from the servo into the GEAR port on the Receiver.
Note: The 5th Wheel servo does not operate via the MFU in this configuration, but has a direct connection to the Receiver.

3. Change the Transmitter from Mode 1 to Mode 2 to switch the Throttle and Elevator controls.
Note: Mode 2 has the Throttle control on the up and down axis of the left stick and the Elevator controls on the up and down axis of the right stick. Mode 1 has the opposite. This does not affect the Aileron and Rudder controls. These settings only affect the currently selected Model, other stored models are not affected by these changes.
a. Power on the Transmitter
b. Using the click wheel, press down once to click, and the Adjust List should appear.
c. Scroll through the list until Model Select is highlighted and click.
d. Scroll through to the Model you wish to configure and click.
e. Scroll through the list until Setup List is highlighted and click. The Setup List should appear.
f. Scroll through the list until you reach Copy/Reset, and click.
g. Scroll down to Reset, and click. The Reset control screen should appear.
h. Switch the AIL D/R switch at the top right of the Transmitter from position 1 to 0 three times.
i. The hidden mode change menu should appear, scroll to select the mode you wish to use, in this case Mode 2, and click.
j. Scroll to List (top right corner of the screen) and click.
4. Adjust the Model Type
a. Power on the Transmitter
b. Click the scroll wheel once.
c. Scroll though until Setup List is highlighted, and click. The Setup List will be displayed.
d. Scroll through until Model Type is selected and click.
e. Select ACRO (with the picture of the plane) and click.
f. Scroll until List in the top right hand corner is highlighted and click.
5. Set the Model Name
a. Scroll until Model Name is selected and click.
b. Scroll until the section under Model 1 is selected and click.
Note: Model 1 will have a different number depending on which model is selected.
6. Using the scroll wheel and clicking to adjust the characters and position, give the model a name.
7. Once you are happy with the name, scroll through to Ok, and click.
8. Scroll until List in the top right hand corner is highlighted and click.
6. Reverse Some Controls
a. Scroll though until Reverse is selected, and click.
b. Scroll until the N next to THRO is selected, click once
c. Scroll until the N changes to an R, and click.
d. Scroll until the N next to AILE is selected, click once
e. Scroll until the N changes to an R, and click.
f. Scroll until the N next to ELEV is selected, click once
g. Scroll until the N changes to an R, and click.
h. Scroll until the N next to RUDD is selected, click once
i. Scroll until the N changes to an R, and click.
j. Scroll until the N next to GEAR is selected, click once
k. Scroll until the N changes to an R, and click.
l. Scroll until List in the top right corner is highlighted and click.
7. Set the Throttle Cutoff
a. Scroll until Thro Cut is selected and click.
b. Scroll until INH next to Position is selected and click.
c. Change to ACT using the scroll wheel and click.
d. Scroll to List in the top right corner and click.
8. Set the D/R&EXPO Settings
These settings allow you to use the D/R switches to negate the need to use the trim adjust controls when using the advanced fuctions of the MFU.
a. Scroll though to Adjust List and click.
b. Scroll down to D/R&EXPO and click.
c. Scroll through to the first column next to ELEV is selected, and click.
d. Ensure the ELEV D/R switch is set to 0, there should be a 0 next to ELEV on the screen.
e. Change value to 60% using the scroll wheel and click.
f. Move the ELEV D/R switch on the Transmitter from 0 to 1, there should now be a 1 next to ELEV on the screen.
g. Back on the screen, ensure that the first column for [B]ELEV[/]B] is set to 100%
h. Move the scroll wheel to the second column of ELEV and click.
i. Change the value to +40% and click.
j. Move the ELEV D/R switch back to 0 from 1, there should now be a 0 next to ELEV on the screen.
k. Scroll through to the first column next to RUDD is selected, and click.
l. Ensure the RUDD D/R switch is set to 0, there should be a 0 next to RUDD on the screen.
m. Change value to 90% using the scroll wheel and click.
n. Move the RUDD D/R switch on the Transmitter from 0 to 1, there should now be a 1 next to RUDD on the screen.
o. Back on the screen, ensure that the first column for RUDD is set to 100%
p. Move the scroll wheel to the second column of RUDD and click.
q. Change the value to +100% and click.
r. Move the RUDD D/R switch back to 0 from 1, there should now be a 0 next to RUDD on the screen.
s. Scroll until List in the top right hand corner is selected, and click.
9. Adjust settings for Fifth Wheel servo
a. On the Adjust List, scroll until Travel ADJ is highlighted and click.
b. Set the Gear leaver to 1
c. Scroll until 100% next to GEAR is highlighted, and click.
d. Adjust value to a level where you do not hear the servo making a noise.
e. Click
f. Scroll until List in the top right hand corner is selected and click.
5. Calibrate the Tamiya Multi-Function Unit (MFU) with the Transmitter
a. Push and hold the Set button on the MFU control unit for 1 second, the MFU should stop the engine sound, and the LED on the control unit will blink.
b. On the Transmitter, move the left stick fully up and down then back to the center. The LED on the control unit will blink 3 times.
c. Move the left stick fully right to left and back to center. The LED on the control unit will blink 3 times.
d. Move the right stick fully up to down and back to center. The LED on the control unit will blink 3 times.
e. Move the right stick fully left to right and back to center. The LED on the control unit will blink 3 times quickly, and then will blink slowly.
f. Press the Set button on the control unit, the LED will then blink and turn on.
To use the Transmitter with the MFU:-
Throttle is the left stick up and down.
Steer is the right stick left and right.
Changing gears is the left stick left and right with the RUDD D/R switch in the 0 position.
Long horn is right stick all the way up with the ELEV D/R switch in the 0 position.
Short horn is the right stick all the way down with the ELEV D/R switch in the 0 position.
• To turn on and off the emergency lights push right stick all the way up with the ELEV D/R switch in the 1 position.
• To scroll through the light functions move the right stick all the way down with the ELEV D/R switch in the 1 position.
• To Stop/Start the engine ensure the ELEV D/R and RUDD D/R switches are in the 1 position, put the left stick in the full right position and the left stick to the full up position.
• To operate the Fifth Wheel, use the Gear switch.
Cheers,

Cossett
__________________
RIP FreddyGearDrive 2-12-59/12-19-11
Love my Kenworths

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2012, 06:02 PM
confucius confucius is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Warrington cheshire UK
Posts: 2
confucius is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

Hi cossett, hoping you can help, iv set dx6i up how you suggested
but i dont get any sound or foward/reverse, if i remove j6 it will start up and if i remove j7 and plug it into aux on rx and leave j6 in elev i get sound and move, no horn or lights,
my mfu is a 01
thank you for any help
Andy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2012, 03:56 PM
confucius confucius is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Warrington cheshire UK
Posts: 2
confucius is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

Hi Sally, thank you for the reply
had a play today i double checked all plugs on mfu and rx
• The Throttle (J5) on the MFU is plugged into the THRO port on the receiver.
• The Steering (J4) on the MFU is plugged into the AILE port on the receiver.
• The Support Legs (J6) on the MFU is plugged into the ELEV port on the receiver.
• The Shift (J7) on the MFU is plugged into the RUDD port on the receiver.
and all this right and 5th Wheel servo is pluged into GEAR

the TX is set up how you have said
MFU control box is set in the middle position.
with all this in place when i switch truck on i get steering, gears and 5th wheel,
no sound, throttle, lights of any kind.
my RX is the AR6200
i have'nt calibrated the MFU i have tried

thank you again for all the help

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2012, 09:35 PM
1985 kenworth's Avatar
1985 kenworth 1985 kenworth is offline
Big Dawg On The Bone
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: brampton,ontario,canada
Posts: 1,843
1985 kenworth is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

i had trouble with my spektrum dx7 and my lhs guy set the trim level end points differently and now everything works fine ..i have no idea what that means but thats what he did hope this helps
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-06-2012, 02:53 PM
MoRockN's Avatar
MoRockN MoRockN is offline
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Midwest
Posts: 412
MoRockN is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

This seems to be a problem with a lot of people, I read everywhere that yes you can make the dx6i work with MFU but nobody has given an answer (Correct answer that is) about the right D/R and end point %'s , so if you have a radio (in front of you) and your truck is working with MFU and DX6i or a 7ch radio please post your setup and D/R specs. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-06-2012, 08:38 PM
fhhhstix's Avatar
fhhhstix fhhhstix is offline
Out of control
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kirklin IN.
Posts: 3,777
fhhhstix has much to be proud offhhhstix has much to be proud offhhhstix has much to be proud offhhhstix has much to be proud offhhhstix has much to be proud offhhhstix has much to be proud offhhhstix has much to be proud offhhhstix has much to be proud of
Default Re: Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

On my dx6 and 7 the D/R is 0=100 and 1=150. The only problem I have is getting the horn to honk consistently sometimes it does sometimes it doesn't but that is not a big deal to me.

Travis
__________________
AKA "00" Biddle


RIP FreddyGearDrive 2-12-59/12-19-11
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-08-2012, 01:39 AM
1985 kenworth's Avatar
1985 kenworth 1985 kenworth is offline
Big Dawg On The Bone
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: brampton,ontario,canada
Posts: 1,843
1985 kenworth is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

too bad i can't get my lhs guy who set up my dx7 to come on here and explain it he is a genius for that he set mine up and everthing works perfect
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-09-2012, 02:05 PM
MoRockN's Avatar
MoRockN MoRockN is offline
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Midwest
Posts: 412
MoRockN is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

You are lucky to have somebody at your LHS that knows what an MFU is. We just learn about everything our selves here in Nebraska since most people just use pistol grip radios for everything. I have a Hitec Aurora 9 that I'm using on all my semi's ( someday I'll post pictures ) and I wanna use the DX6i for one truck that I use for hauling my construction equipments and it has the stupid MFU in it. I think from now on I'm just gonna switch to Servonaut and call it good.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-28-2012, 08:17 AM
ittigger ittigger is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
ittigger is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

If I set this up on my DX6i, will it change the settings for the other vehicles I use this for (which are aircraft)?

Can I do this with any Spektrum receiver? AR6000B?

Once setup, how do I turn on the lights, blinkers, etc (that all used the analog trims)?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-07-2012, 09:37 AM
ittigger ittigger is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
ittigger is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

My input. Following the directions above, you cannot make ANY changes after you calibrate with the MFU - otherwise you have to recalibrate. Also, upon calibration, ensure that ALL D/R's switches are set to 0, otherwise - you guessed it - recalibrate.

Using a DX6i and a Spektrum AR600 receiver, I have gotten everything to work (as directed above) except for remote start.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-07-2012, 01:15 PM
dabears's Avatar
dabears dabears is offline
Dairyland trucker's right hand man.
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,005
dabears is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

I use the dx5e and it only took 5 mins to set up. Everything works good, only downfall is I only have one open channel for future options or add ons. My lhs knows nothing about the mfu units even though they are a Tamiya authorized shop.....
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-08-2012, 07:04 PM
ittigger ittigger is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
ittigger is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

My lhs doesn't either. Again, I have no remote on / off but that's ok - I can live with that part.



My Aero will get the same works.

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-13-2012, 02:58 PM
MoRockN's Avatar
MoRockN MoRockN is offline
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Midwest
Posts: 412
MoRockN is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

If I plug the J6 into ELEV, the MFU starts and stops on it's own and just keeps doing it, and if I unplug J6 I got no MFU controls but the truck will move and steer. I just cannot believe that this is making me go crazy. Am I missing something here??? It shouldn't be this hard but I just can't get it to work. I have all the stuff trimmed just like Cossette posted, but no luck.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
If you got it, a Trucker brought it....
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-18-2013, 04:10 PM
dmess62's Avatar
dmess62 dmess62 is offline
Green Horn
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Evansville,IN
Posts: 270
dmess62 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

I have the dx6i and dont have any remote start. I have it configured as above does anyone have any suggestions
__________________
Thanks for looking. All comments, suggestions, and constructive criticism are appreciated.

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-18-2013, 04:30 PM
dabears's Avatar
dabears dabears is offline
Dairyland trucker's right hand man.
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,005
dabears is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

Do all other functions work right? just not the turn off or on?
__________________
Hi my name is Aaron.... And i'm a truckaholic!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-18-2013, 06:07 PM
dmess62's Avatar
dmess62 dmess62 is offline
Green Horn
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Evansville,IN
Posts: 270
dmess62 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

Hey Aaron I didn't have all the light plugged in but when I put the elevator and rudder switches to position 1 and move the sticks I can hear through the speaker like its turning on the blinkers with the right stick instead of on/off of motor
__________________
Thanks for looking. All comments, suggestions, and constructive criticism are appreciated.

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-21-2013, 09:09 PM
dabears's Avatar
dabears dabears is offline
Dairyland trucker's right hand man.
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,005
dabears is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

FYI the 5th wheel will work if you change the D&R for RUDD to 100%/INH with swith on 0, and 100% / -22% switch in 1 you can toggle the 5th wheel (or dump esc in my case) ran thru the MFU and with switch set to RUDD DR 0 it'll only control light functions

Hope this helps someone
__________________
Hi my name is Aaron.... And i'm a truckaholic!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-22-2013, 05:59 PM
Supermario's Avatar
Supermario Supermario is offline
Big Dawg On The Bone
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sault Ste Marie
Posts: 2,039
Supermario is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

I purchased a dx6i from Russ at Indy last year with intentions of installing in my king of bling. Have yet to do it, it's on the to do list but now I'm thinking..... I'm gonna wait till Indy. If I can get Smiley to put on a led workshop, how's about a radio set up workshop? .
Ok, that's it from me, no more workshop ideas for Indy

Mario
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-22-2013, 06:31 PM
dabears's Avatar
dabears dabears is offline
Dairyland trucker's right hand man.
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,005
dabears is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supermario View Post
I purchased a dx6i from Russ at Indy last year with intentions of installing in my king of bling. Have yet to do it, it's on the to do list but now I'm thinking..... I'm gonna wait till Indy. If I can get Smiley to put on a led workshop, how's about a radio set up workshop? .
Ok, that's it from me, no more workshop ideas for Indy

Mario
We can get it set up at Indy in a few mins bring it with
__________________
Hi my name is Aaron.... And i'm a truckaholic!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-24-2013, 11:44 AM
Supermario's Avatar
Supermario Supermario is offline
Big Dawg On The Bone
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sault Ste Marie
Posts: 2,039
Supermario is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Configure Spectrum DX6i with Tamiya MFU

Quote:
Originally Posted by dabears View Post
We can get it set up at Indy in a few mins bring it with
Thanks Aaron I will do that for sure

Mario
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.