RC Truck and Construction  

Go Back   RC Truck and Construction > RC Tech section. > Metal forming & tools

Metal forming & tools If it bends,twists,welds,cuts & turns metal.Post it here


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-19-2011, 12:21 AM
Operator's Avatar
Operator Operator is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Medford WI
Posts: 39
Operator is on a distinguished road
Default Re: cnc ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fhhhstix View Post
I was at my local machine shop yesterday and watched him work for a little while and he has the butterfly wrench set up on his mills and it is a real slick way of changing tooling.

Travis
Slicker than snot, for cheap


http://home.insightbb.com/~joevicar3/cheap_drawbar.htm
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-19-2011, 01:04 AM
doodlebug's Avatar
doodlebug doodlebug is offline
Big Dawg On The Bone
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: South 40 Swamp, Utah
Posts: 2,372
doodlebug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: cnc ?

Thank's Matt, the picture explained everything! Later, Neil#2 aka doodlebug
P.S. Which crusher's do I need to look at next month ( conexpo/conag/ifpe show)?
I will be taking picture's!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-19-2011, 09:34 AM
ihbuilder's Avatar
ihbuilder ihbuilder is offline
Fabrication and design , super moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: in a cage in Auburn,PA
Posts: 3,562
ihbuilder is a jewel in the roughihbuilder is a jewel in the roughihbuilder is a jewel in the roughihbuilder is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: cnc ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Operator View Post
R-8 tooling is all you need, and is everywhere cheap. Make a power drawbar for about $50 out of a small air cyl, and a HF butterfly air wrench. This is about as quick as it gets to changing tooling. Unless your running a production shop with employee's, save your dough for extra endmills, you will need them though your cnc programming learning.
already have the quick change w/draw bar and R8 wont fit this baby , It takes NST#40 . what I got yesterday for $125.00 is worth up to $1000.00 now I just need more cutters and a 3 phase converter .

Steve
__________________
RIP FreddyGearDrive 2-12-59/12-19-11

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-20-2011, 01:30 AM
doodlebug's Avatar
doodlebug doodlebug is offline
Big Dawg On The Bone
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: South 40 Swamp, Utah
Posts: 2,372
doodlebug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: cnc ?

Hey Steve, do you want to buy or build the 3 phase converter, Let me know, I can steer you toward's DIY if you are interested.
Later, Neil#2 aka doodlebug.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-20-2011, 02:21 AM
ihbuilder's Avatar
ihbuilder ihbuilder is offline
Fabrication and design , super moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: in a cage in Auburn,PA
Posts: 3,562
ihbuilder is a jewel in the roughihbuilder is a jewel in the roughihbuilder is a jewel in the roughihbuilder is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: cnc ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by doodlebug View Post
Hey Steve, do you want to buy or build the 3 phase converter, Let me know, I can steer you toward's DIY if you are interested.
Later, Neil#2 aka doodlebug.
Neil , I may be going that route since the quote I got on a VFD/inverter . I had a 20 hp RPC and sold it a month before I got the mill ( kicking my own azz ) the prob with that 1 it took all the amps I had supplied to the barn every time I fired it up . I saw a place in NY that sells panels already wired up you just get the motor . Now , I've been reading that your ph converter should have more hp then your load I'm thinking of going 10 hp for 5hp .

Steve
__________________
RIP FreddyGearDrive 2-12-59/12-19-11

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-20-2011, 12:43 PM
pugs pugs is offline
Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 368
pugs is on a distinguished road
Default Re: cnc ?

Double is the recommended for CNC stuff, also make sure the legs are balanced under load
__________________
Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-20-2011, 07:32 PM
doodlebug's Avatar
doodlebug doodlebug is offline
Big Dawg On The Bone
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: South 40 Swamp, Utah
Posts: 2,372
doodlebug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: cnc ?

Steve you are correct, Now the thing that I don't know how to do is? Add capasitor's to the rotary convertor, and make it more efficient. The home brew rotary convertor's are like briggs & strattons, pull the rope, then throw the power switch. Hope this help's a little bit. Later, Neil#2 aka doodlebug.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-20-2011, 07:47 PM
ihbuilder's Avatar
ihbuilder ihbuilder is offline
Fabrication and design , super moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: in a cage in Auburn,PA
Posts: 3,562
ihbuilder is a jewel in the roughihbuilder is a jewel in the roughihbuilder is a jewel in the roughihbuilder is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: cnc ?

Aw heck I'll just go find as big a 3 phase motor I can find And put it behind a 400 bc3 cummins my wife just said to me today " will you just make parts and not tools also ! , we'll get the converter ! " my impatience are a killer . I'm starting to understand the programing I read my manual once and it didn't stick now second time around I'm working on programing back side of hub , hex and bolt pattern . taping I'll do by hand for now .

IHSteve
__________________
RIP FreddyGearDrive 2-12-59/12-19-11

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-20-2011, 07:56 PM
ihbuilder's Avatar
ihbuilder ihbuilder is offline
Fabrication and design , super moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: in a cage in Auburn,PA
Posts: 3,562
ihbuilder is a jewel in the roughihbuilder is a jewel in the roughihbuilder is a jewel in the roughihbuilder is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: cnc ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pugs View Post
Double is the recommended for CNC stuff, also make sure the legs are balanced under load
Jeff I was told that to , also that you should separate the control power from the motor ? Which I did and the control works well . I may have to up grade the Z card in the future also want to put a 4th axis on it some time . I just got to find the parts .

Steve
__________________
RIP FreddyGearDrive 2-12-59/12-19-11

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-20-2011, 08:00 PM
doodlebug's Avatar
doodlebug doodlebug is offline
Big Dawg On The Bone
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: South 40 Swamp, Utah
Posts: 2,372
doodlebug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: cnc ?

Steve I have 3 phase in my shipping container/shop, But I'm not a 3 phase expert! I still call the sparky when I have questions!
Later, Neil#2 aka doodlebug.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 02-20-2011, 08:56 PM
pugs pugs is offline
Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 368
pugs is on a distinguished road
Default Re: cnc ?

Steve, won't be long you'll be doing parametric programming with subprograms and variables and custom macros

Good luck
__________________
Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 02-20-2011, 10:50 PM
ihbuilder's Avatar
ihbuilder ihbuilder is offline
Fabrication and design , super moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: in a cage in Auburn,PA
Posts: 3,562
ihbuilder is a jewel in the roughihbuilder is a jewel in the roughihbuilder is a jewel in the roughihbuilder is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: cnc ?

Arrhhh I want to cut my dozer pads I can't wait much more

Neil I'm lucky to have a bunch of sparky friends from the construction industry + my parents neighbor is an PE in EE ,ME and some others they have a plant design co. where they set up assembly lines although they have no experience with phase converters but thats not taking me long to get straightened out .

IHSteve
__________________
RIP FreddyGearDrive 2-12-59/12-19-11

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02-21-2011, 01:40 AM
doodlebug's Avatar
doodlebug doodlebug is offline
Big Dawg On The Bone
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: South 40 Swamp, Utah
Posts: 2,372
doodlebug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: cnc ?

Hey Steve, sound's like thing's are under control!
Later, Neil#2 aka doodlebug.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.