RC Truck and Construction  

Go Back   RC Truck and Construction > RC Truck's Ag and Industrial Equipment and Buildings > Construction Equipment > Construction Equipment Tech

Construction Equipment Tech Hydraulics, Electronics, General Engineering, ect in constr equip

Old 11-07-2016, 04:44 PM
Wannabe

Efroeh is on a distinguished road
Default What vertical mill to buy?

Hey guys and gals, after seeing all the amazing builds that happen on this site I am wanting to purchase a mill. I would like a vertical mill as I've read it's the most versatile one. I am completely new to milling so any Advice or knowledge would be greatly appreciated. Also what should I be looking for? I will be doing mostly aluminum work. I have 220 in my garage no 3 phase tho. Thanks
Old 11-07-2016, 06:24 PM
Super Moderator

tc1cat is on a distinguished road
Default Re: What vertical mill to buy?

Main thing I can tell you is buy the largest machine you can afford. Buying a cheaper, smaller machine will leave you wanting more when you want to make something that is too large for your machine. I still regret selling my 1st bench-top mill as I had quit using it and figured I would not need it anymore. Went with Sherline equipment and have been very satisfied with them until I need to make parts for the RC semis and construction equipment. I have upgraded the mill to its limit and it is still about 2 inches too small to make the necessary parts.

Hope this helps!!
Old 11-07-2016, 11:41 PM
Wannabe

Thanks for the info. I was curious what dimensions for the table would be a good size?
Old 11-08-2016, 03:19 AM
Green Horn

SteinHDan is on a distinguished road

I have a 14" by 25" table (K2CNC KT-2514S) and that has been large enough for all the RC stuff I've wanted to do.

The one I have is no longer sold, but I think there are some good quite cheap alternatives, like this one:
- CNC 6040Z 3-axis, 1500W VFD spindle, 110V/220V