RC Truck and Construction  

Go Back   RC Truck and Construction > RC Tech section. > Electronics tech

Electronics tech Anything to do with the electronics in a model. Lights, Radio, ESC, Servo, Basic electrical.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-02-2017, 10:03 PM
sparkycuda's Avatar
sparkycuda sparkycuda is offline
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: English, IN
Posts: 573
sparkycuda is on a distinguished road
Default Switch & Fuse in Battery Circuit ?

I recently purchased a 4200XL ver 1.5 RC4WD excavator and someone recommended that I add an ON-OFF switch to isolate the battery (more convenient than unplugging all the time) and an in-line fuse for protection. I'm using a 6000mAh 3S lipo battery and am not sure how to calculate what amperage fuse and switch should be used.

Recommendations are greatly appreciated!

Thanks.

Ken
__________________
Big iron is awesome!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2017, 12:15 AM
Lil Giants's Avatar
Lil Giants Lil Giants is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,915
Lil Giants is a jewel in the roughLil Giants is a jewel in the roughLil Giants is a jewel in the roughLil Giants is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Switch & Fuse in Battery Circuit ?

Not sure what that hyd pump has for amp draw, put a meter on it to see what it is & add 10amp cushion
__________________
Sharing knowledge is one thing that defies basic arithmetic logic --- the more you share, the more you get!

Joe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2017, 01:16 AM
frizzen frizzen is offline
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: indy, indiana
Posts: 620
frizzen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Switch & Fuse in Battery Circuit ?

What's your speed control rated at?
__________________
It's your world. Maybe you put a tree there, maybe have a stream through here, maybe you make happy clouds, it doesn't matter. It's whatever you want to make, there are no mistakes.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-24-2017, 12:23 PM
sparkycuda's Avatar
sparkycuda sparkycuda is offline
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: English, IN
Posts: 573
sparkycuda is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Switch & Fuse in Battery Circuit ?

Lil Giants: Checked motor draw at hydraulic stall - it is 11A.
frizzen: Speed controller is rated at 60A.

So, a 20A fuse and switch should be okay for this?

Thanks for the help!

Ken
__________________
Big iron is awesome!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.