RC Truck and Construction  

Go Back   RC Truck and Construction > RC Tech section. > Electronics tech

Electronics tech Anything to do with the electronics in a model. Lights, Radio, ESC, Servo, Basic electrical.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2017, 12:15 PM
Mech_Eng's Avatar
Mech_Eng Mech_Eng is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Corpus Christi, Tx
Posts: 30
Mech_Eng is on a distinguished road
Default 6 brushed motors on one channel?

I have decided to attempt to make an ADT. I am wanting to use one brushed motor each wheel and am unsure how the ESC setup should look. Any help will be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2017, 12:42 PM
RCP57's Avatar
RCP57 RCP57 is offline
Big Dawg On The Bone
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 3,620
RCP57 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 6 brushed motors on one channel?

One decent esc should do the trick just fine for all 6 motors.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2017, 01:27 PM
Dunga_CZE Dunga_CZE is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: near Prague, Czech rep.
Posts: 14
Dunga_CZE is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 6 brushed motors on one channel?

Question is, whether you want to use a single ESC or individual one for each motor. Afterwards you have to decide to use one or more batteries.

6M, 1ESC, 1Bat. - easy, you just split cables from ESC to motors.

6M, 2-6ESCs, 1Bats. - you split cables from ESCs to motors and from battery to ESCs as well as you'd have to split (or you Y cables) from Rx to the ESCs.
6M, 2-6ESCs, 2-6Bats. - you split cables from ESCs to motors and from battery/ies to ESCs as well as you'd have to split (or you Y cables) from Rx to the ESCs.
6M, 6ESCs, 6Bats. - easy, you just split cables from Rx to ESCs and connect the rest as if it was a 1M, 1ESC, 1Bat. setup.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2017, 08:38 PM
Lil Giants's Avatar
Lil Giants Lil Giants is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,915
Lil Giants is a jewel in the roughLil Giants is a jewel in the roughLil Giants is a jewel in the roughLil Giants is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: 6 brushed motors on one channel?

My Stahl wheel loader with 4 brushed motors uses one Mtronics Viper Marine 15A.

My Stahl adt with 6 brushed motors uses a Sabertooth 2x12, the 2nd motor controller runs the hyd pump.

The motors are 380's on spur gearheads.

No issues or problems in... +10yrs.
__________________
Sharing knowledge is one thing that defies basic arithmetic logic --- the more you share, the more you get!

Joe
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-2017, 12:07 AM
Mech_Eng's Avatar
Mech_Eng Mech_Eng is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Corpus Christi, Tx
Posts: 30
Mech_Eng is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 6 brushed motors on one channel?

Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-01-2017, 02:44 PM
doodlebug's Avatar
doodlebug doodlebug is offline
Big Dawg On The Bone
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: South 40 Swamp, Utah
Posts: 2,372
doodlebug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 6 brushed motors on one channel?

This one is big!
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXGPXH&P=E
Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-02-2017, 12:58 AM
frizzen frizzen is offline
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: indy, indiana
Posts: 617
frizzen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 6 brushed motors on one channel?

Doodle, that looks great, but it's a brushless esc. He was wanting brushed motors.

First, how big of motors are you thinking? Then how many of those lets you figure out how many amps of esc it needs. It may be cheaper to do a couple esc instead of a massive one, in which case you pull the red wire out of servo lead on all but 1 esc.
__________________
It's your world. Maybe you put a tree there, maybe have a stream through here, maybe you make happy clouds, it doesn't matter. It's whatever you want to make, there are no mistakes.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-02-2017, 02:36 AM
doodlebug's Avatar
doodlebug doodlebug is offline
Big Dawg On The Bone
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: South 40 Swamp, Utah
Posts: 2,372
doodlebug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 6 brushed motors on one channel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by frizzen View Post
Doodle, that looks great, but it's a brushless esc. He was wanting brushed motors.

First, how big of motors are you thinking? Then how many of those lets you figure out how many amps of esc it needs. It may be cheaper to do a couple esc instead of a massive one, in which case you pull the red wire out of servo lead on all but 1 esc.
It goes either way! Brushed or brushless!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-05-2017, 05:59 PM
Rimrock Rimrock is offline
Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Western NO
Posts: 305
Rimrock is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 6 brushed motors on one channel?

I'm familiar with a couple of wheel loaders and a ADT with a motor in each wheel, all hooked up to one ESC, works fine. Don't need a very massive ESC, all wheels will not stall at once, and we're taking about in the region of 4-5-6 amps a motor typically (wheel size 5" +/-). A ESC like Hobbywing 1060, 60A, will get you far.

Last edited by Rimrock; 04-05-2017 at 06:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-02-2017, 10:29 AM
Efroeh Efroeh is online now
Green Horn
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: sask canada
Posts: 214
Efroeh is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 6 brushed motors on one channel?

what esc did you end up using? I am also thinking about a nice winter project of building a adt.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.