RC Truck and Construction  

Go Back   RC Truck and Construction > RC Truck's Defenders of the land. > Military Tech.

Military Tech. Tips/Tricks and info on all Military in here.

Old 09-02-2013, 12:05 PM
Green Horn

dmess62 is on a distinguished road
Default Tank issues

My dad has an old radio shack toy rc Sherman tank he has an issue with it as soon as he turns it on it takes off full speed and there is no control to it. I pulled apart to look for a loose wire or something obvious with it. I'm not good with the electronics but was wondering if someone might have some insight. Keep in mind this is from probably the mid 80's, but I know he would like to get it running properly

Dave
Old 09-02-2013, 01:20 PM
Big Dawg On The Bone

Espeefan has a spectacular aura aboutEspeefan has a spectacular aura aboutEspeefan has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Tank issues

I'm not sure much is repairable, beyond wires, with the Radio Shack models. Perhaps your dad would be okay buying a really cheap hobby grade radio, and a Sabertooth ESC from Dimension Engineering. It would give him proportional control, instead of the typical on/off throttle and steering. The 5 amp Sabertooth is $59, and you could probably get a radio for about the same. Problem is, does your dad want to spend more then the tank is worth?

Maybe the problem is not so much with the tank, but the Radio Shack radio? Might be worth a shot to take that apart and look for any obvious signs of damage or wear. I've seen the throttle and steering sticks wear through the printed circuit board's copper contact patches, as they rock back and forth to control the model.

Given the tank takes off right away, maybe there is a pinched or shorted wire that is bypassing the speed controllers, inside the tank.
Old 09-02-2013, 02:56 PM
Green Horn