RC Truck and Construction  

Go Back   RC Truck and Construction > RC Truck's General Discussion. > General Discussion

General Discussion A place to post off topic discussions.

Old 10-19-2020, 11:50 PM

Rhodeislander is on a distinguished road
Default 3D print question

Hi all,
new guy question. Is there a location for the print designs for some of the parts used in our type builds? Im new at this and would buy a printer, but a CAD expert I am not. Design would be a little deep for me.
Bud
Old 10-20-2020, 06:31 AM

diesel950 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 3D print question

check out thingiverse, search for tamiya truck will give you lots to look at.
Old 10-20-2020, 06:42 AM

Benni is on a distinguished road

I've found a few things on thingiverse.com, 1/14 and 1/10 scale and there is no problem re-scaling them in the slicer software, I use Repetier simply because is was on the SD card that came with the printer.

If you do try to design your own stuff (fusion 360 or sketchup) I recommend starting small/simple and print test pieces.
Not draw a whole/half a body and then discover what your printer can and can't do, that's the mistake I did...
Old 10-20-2020, 04:05 PM
Journeyman

jerry56 is on a distinguished road

Also search Bruder and WPL on thingiverse... I'm just starting 3D printing, no printer yet but I've been dabbling in Tinkercad making simple objects.... you don't need to be a CAD expert....
Old 10-20-2020, 05:08 PM
Big Dawg On The Bone

frizzen is on a distinguished road

Might also check out

https://www.myminifactory.com

https://www.yeggi.com - more like a search engine
Old 12-16-2020, 04:47 PM
Green Horn

ddmckee54 is on a distinguished road

Rhodeislander:

In some ways not being a CAD expert is an advantage, you don't have old habits to un-learn. I got my first 3D printer about 6 years ago with much the same idea as you, to print designs made by somebody else. I got the idea of 3D printing the parts I needed from the RCTractorGuy.